top of page

Stay Updated About Two New Travel Notices

On January 31, 2020, the White House issued two travel-related announcements. Read on for more information in case these travel notices affect you, your family, or your business. 

First, the Trump administration, through the Department of Health and Human Services, made announcements related to China and the coronavirus. Any U.S. citizen who has traveled in or through the Hubei Province in the last two weeks must go through a mandatory quarantine before returning to the United States. Otherwise, U.S. citizens who have traveled more generally in mainland China will be screened at CBP ports of entry and may require 14 days of “self-monitoring.” In addition, foreign nationals who have visited China in the last two weeks will be temporarily banned from entering the United States. The ban begins Sunday, February 2, 2020, at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time. 

Second, President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation expanding Travel Ban 3.0 to include certain foreign nationals from the following six countries:

  1. Burma (Myanmar)

  2. Eritrea

  3. Kyrgyzstan

  4. Nigeria

  5. Sudan

  6. Tanzania 

According to the Department of Homeland Security, they added these countries after reviewing updated security assessment criteria established after the first version of the travel ban. Note that restrictions have been placed only on people seeking immigrant visas from the newly added countries. Individuals from these countries seeking nonimmigrant visas should not be restricted. The expanded Travel Ban 3.0 begins on February 21, 2020.

Speak with an Atlanta Immigration Attorney

Understanding the complexities of the various travel notices can be difficult. Be sure to get answers from an experienced Atlanta immigration attorney. They will ensure that you receive the best advice for your specific situation. Contact the Georgia immigration attorneys at Antonini & Cohen online or by calling 404-850-9394.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page